Skip to content

The Good, the Bad and Vedanta

February 22, 2012

Hello everyone,

My name is… Wait before my name let me tell you who am I. I work for Vedanta. I studied hard for it to go up the ladder and am now making my loved ones proud. My parents, they talk about me in the parties, in marriages in social gatherings and in turn get to hear how brilliant I always was. I am happy. They are happy. It is a big company and I work as a manager here. But I am a little scared. Scared of a few women. The videos will tell you why. Oh wait! I totally forgot only. My boss told me to go step by step. First step ! Ah yes, Do you know what Vedanta is? Well here, lest I make mistakes, I copied this straight from our website –

We are a globally diversified natural resources group committed to sustainable development, supporting local communities and contributing to the economies of the areas where we operate. Our assets and operations are located in the high growth markets of India, Zambia, Namibia, South Africa, Liberia, Ireland and Australia. We are primarily engaged in copper, zinc, silver, aluminium, iron ore and power business. Our Group Revenue for the fiscal year ending 31 March 2011 was US$ 11.4 billion.

A billion dollar, he he. This is what my relatives really go gaga about. So, you can see that I am making a lot of money too. I am enjoying my work here. And before you get any wrong ideas, no, it is not all about money. I am also satisfied that we are doing a lot of good for a lot of people. We do make money but also are into helping people who are impoverished, both physically and mentally. These people, I tell you. I do not know what they would have done if we or likes of us were not there. This little video will show you all that we have done and more. See it for yourself. Look what we have done to Binno, this little girl. All you need to do is click on the link below, it is just a minute long video –

Click – Vedanta Creating Happiness

We are creating a million Binnos. I was really moved when I had heard that Binno’s father had no toys to play with. We have give Binno’s brother a marvelous toy to play with. Binno says it works with electricity. Binno continuously smiles. We are not sure if Binno’s mother had ever smiled. She seems a lot sad these days. Binnos parents never went to school (can you even imagine? What a hell of a childhood they would have gone through?). Binno goes to school and is eternally happy. You could see that from the ‘perfectly natural’ video. I feel so proud.

So in short we are also engaged not only in copper, zinc, silver, aluminium but also Binnos.

But like all good things, this does not come easy. It is a lot of hard work. We have a cost to pay for and women to fight with. These people are sitting on $1.7 billion worth of bauxite and are not ready to buzz from the place. Can’t they move a little (a little more) and let us dig the place. How else would these tribal get roads, buildings, schools, hospitals and yes most importantly toilets? We are just asking them to move a little, leave the land and come work as workers for us. Live a better life… But no! I tell you! A lot of hungama.. You should see the women, they just come out and are ready to throw us from their (now ours) place.. I am so scared. Thank God the all caring police force is there to protect us from the onslaught. You can see why we want the Binno model to be different from them, why she needs to be schooled. These illiterate buggers.

I mean it. See these 2 videos and you will realize, again both are just a minute long –

Click – Villagers protest Vedanta Red Mud Pond – 2

Click – Villagers protest Vedanta Red Mud Pond – 3

Saw how they are protesting ! Like children ! I am sure Binno’s mother would also have taken part in this protest. Seriously no gratitude they have ! I think everyone in the village should be shown the “Binno video”. We do so much for them and they are not even ready to pay a little price?

हम इन्हें बिजली देते हैं, स्कूल देते हैं, खिलौने देते हैं, हंसी देते हैं, ढेर सारी खुशियाँ देते हैं | और इसके बदले अगर हमारे आदमी इनसे थोड़ी सी इनकी जमीन मांगते हैं, इन्हें थोड़ा सा अपनी जगह से हटने को कहते हैं, तो क्या कोई जुर्म करते हैं ? मैं कहता हूँ कोई जुर्म नहीं करते |

I am not sure why I am writing this to you. May be because I am scared. May be because I too want to build a better world for all. May be you will understand Vedanta’s position and join the police force to help us. May be you will make them understand that for a plant to remain healthy and for the world to develop a little pruning here or there is often necessary.

Thank you.

14 Comments leave one →
  1. Pranoy permalink
    February 25, 2012 19:56

    I so sympathize with you my Vedanta employee. I can completely understand. These tribal just like animals are coming away with their rights and troubling us. We are rolling our way into the glorious future of ultimate growth percentage. Who are they to stop us?

    Like

    • February 25, 2012 20:06

      Thank you for the support. As a Vedanta employee now I can stand up and say – “ये ज़मीन जो उनकी थी अबसे हमारी है और हम इसे छीन कर लेंगे | चाहे इसके लिए हमें अपनी जान भी क्यूँ न देनी पड़े | चले चलो वेदांता |

      Like

  2. Pranoy permalink
    February 25, 2012 19:59

    On a serious note, a wonderful take man. I just pity these people. How can they make such a disgusting and pathetic promotional video? These are the soul-less people who are influencing the policy making.

    Like

    • February 25, 2012 20:11

      🙂 But there are some (or more) who wholeheartedly support this displacement of tribal. Let me copy paste here something that a person recently said – “Should their desire to continue in their old ways be allowed to come in the way of the economic development that much larger number of Indians want and deserve?”… “Some tribals and a lizard —– are we going to reject a billion-plus investment because of these? Are we completely out of our minds?”

      Like

      • Pranoy permalink
        February 25, 2012 20:19

        I have no words! Its just beyond me.

        Like

  3. Rashmi permalink
    February 25, 2012 20:44

    Disturbing as well as hilarious! Including the comments

    Like

  4. Hema S permalink
    February 26, 2012 10:36

    The rate with which these big CORPORATIONS are increasing, getting hold of the most basic of our needs, grabbing control over all policy making bodies, acquiring the so called ‘smart’, ‘cunning’ people is terrifying.

    Every parent want to send their children to do engineering, management, aspire for IIT, IIM etc. Every child from all these institutes and more in the end only looks forward to peg himself or herself into these big corporations. Such is the condition of these institutes, such is the attraction! Those who stand against them are systematically weeded out. I really pity the people who seeing the variety of toothpastes in the mall get excited over the freedom of choice they are being offered.

    anyways, an interesting way to put your forth your point 🙂 keep writing

    Like

    • February 26, 2012 16:06

      True.. But that’s the reason why corporations are structured the way they are right.. They are these self-feeding entities with one purpose in life, and that is to grow and survive. What else can you expect of a legal entity without any conscience, which only aims at maximization of profits

      Like

  5. Shubham permalink
    March 3, 2012 17:11

    This is the reason social sector has lost its primary motive. There is a height of hypocrisy in the world, which these corporate institutions have actually crossed. Making money is not at all a bad option, but one should actually choose between making money and helping the poor. If they want to help the poor and make money from them then its NO DEVELOPMENT – its only maximization of their bottom line. But then, how do one help poor without money? The money which NGOs get are from corporate foundations as well as Govt. If they are not generating money how one will help them?

    It has been nearly 8 months that I have started working in Development sector but still have this mixed feeling of helping poor. I am not able to DIFFERENTIATE between right and wrong.

    Like

    • March 3, 2012 21:03

      Hey, good to hear from you. I can say that I do see and understand your difficulties.. But in a way is it not good that you are getting all these questions. These are real questions and you will have to find your own answers to these. I have the same doubts as yours and am hoping to find answers. For example – Helping, question of empowering! What does it really mean? Is it right to take money (for good cause) from institutions/corporations/individuals who in a way have made that money by exploiting others? And many more..

      Let me share a beautiful saying by an Australian aboriginal with you – ‘If you have come to help me, you are wasting your time. But if you have come because your liberation is bound up with mine, then let us work together.’

      Like

  6. Veen permalink
    June 13, 2012 16:50

    CRAP. I know very well what Vedanta is…. So shut up this giving gesture !

    Like

    • June 13, 2012 16:55

      Well if you now what what Vedanta is, and you believe in shutting the ‘giving gesture’ it holds then you should wholeheartedly agree to the post and the sarcasm within it 🙂

      Like

  7. January 26, 2014 13:42

    The title gives the perception that Vedanta refers to Vedanta- the Hindu philosophy…

    Like

Leave a Reply

