Skip to content

A sage and his destiny

April 9, 2010

Many-a-times we come across a situation where it becomes quite difficult to put things in black and white and say what is right and what is wrong. The same happened here. The story is about this Sage called Sage Co (his wife called him as Sage De) and his tryst with his destiny.

Unlike other Sages, Sage Co was not that great at meditation. But he was a good man, good at heart. For years the Sage had been trying to build his concentration with increasing number of unsuccessful attempts. Sometimes even a small incident like falling of a leaf in his lap would startle him and break his Dhyaan.

So this one day when he was 28, he took bath in river Ganga and prepared himself to sit without getting disturbed for at least an hour. He swore not to get up from his Aasan even if the sky falls on him (not that it was ever going to happen). It was the teesra pahar and the forest was unusually quiet. The Sage quietly sat down under a Banyan tree and started meditating. Suddenly he heard something around him. As usual he heard it and his concentration broke. There was a small rabbit running frantically around a tree. Behind the rabbit was a female fox looking for its prey.

The Sage forgot all about his oath (of sitting for an hour). He instinctively got up and caught the rabbit and hid it under his Angavastram. The fox looked around for its prey for some time and then dejected turned around and went away. Once the fox was out of sight, Sage kept the little rabbit down.

Go little rabbit. Go live your life.

The Sage smiled at the rabbit and went back to his meditation. Today he had saved a life. It was worth breaking the oath.

Years rolled by, the sage grew old and then one day he died. I am not sure if he was able to achieve Nirvana or not. I think he was not coz the next day he was standing waiting in front of the doors of the heaven. A person who attains Nirvana/ Moksha leaves earth, heaven and hell altogether I believe. Ya, so Sage was waiting at the heaven’s gate. It was a long wait and he had been there for a couple of hours (one hour in heaven, even outside the gates of heaven is equal to some n years on earth). After some time the guard came out.

Oh hello, so you are Sage Co. Namaskaram. I am Dwarapu, the royal guard. Lords told me that you were waiting outside and asked me to give you company while they discuss”.

“Namaskaram Dwarapu. What do I have to do with a company Dwarapu? I am an intellectual being, I am beyond any company, industry etc”, said the Sage swaying his long beard.

No no my Lord… You misunderstood me. I was talking about giving you company as in being with you, talking to you so that you do not get bored.”

“Oh my bad” the Sage looked flustered. And then to quickly change the topic asked “Is it usual custom for everyone who comes here to wait for a few hours at the gate?”

Hmm not very often; in some cases there are a few complications. It’s only when Yamraaj gets thoroughly confused, Lord’s sit down to decide the fate of the person. This can be for either for rewards or punishment.” The smile from Sage’s face evaporated.

Complication but what complication! I have never in my whole life committed a sin, then why is any discussion on my fate required. I also tried concentrating and that in last meditation a day before I passed away; I had managed to sit for more than an hour and a half”.

I don’t know, I am not sure, but I overheard them talking something about you saving a life of rabbit and that it was a matter of concern. That one day you had hid a rabbit”.

“Oh ok you scared me Dwarapu, that was when I had saved a life. Lord surely would be discussing on what award to bestow on me”. The smile came back.

I hope so Sage, because from what I heard the news can be evenly bad too”.

“Evenly bad? Aisa kya suna tumne Dwarapu?” The smile evaporated as quickly as it had come back.

Dwarapu came close and whispered, “I heard that on that fateful day the two little new born of the fox had died. They were hungry for more than two days and the little rabbit it seems was the only hope. Moreover the mother fox completely depressed at not being able to feed her kids also died the same day.”

The sage was devastated.

But I never meant to… dear Dwarapu. My intentions, my motivation while saving the little rabbit were pure and based on what I knew.”

“Yes Sage, I understand. But I also know that due to your act that day three innocent lives were lost that day. Yamraaj is thoroughly confused, so a board meeting of all the Lords has been called to discuss your fate.”

The Sage kept sitting there thinking hard, when someone from inside called out.

They are calling you inside my Lord. I think they have decided. Moreover its lunch time.”

Sage walked inside. There were beautiful Apsaras dancing everywhere on the white clouds. However the Sage’s mind was preoccupied. He might not get to enjoy all this if the verdict was not in his favour. A little far away the entire gumbal of Lord’s was sitting. They asked Sage Co to come and sit down.

We are sorry that you had to wait for so long”, said one of the Lords who looked more like Lord Brahma, coz of the long white beard.

No it’s ok. I am perfectly fine. I have learnt the art of patience and did not realise when the time passed. You see I have nearly perfected the art of meditation and now can do that at a stretch for more than an hour and a half.” Sage Co was trying his best to prove himself.

There was general chortle from the Lords’.

Yes yes Sage. We know that. You did manage to cross the barriers. Here we are to tell you that you lived a very pure life. You did everything according to the law of nature and we are proud of you. However, one day when you were 28, coz of you some three lives were lost.”

But it was not my mistake. I did not even know. I was just…”

“Yes yes we understand. It seems Dwarapu has already told you.”

“This Dwarapu and his eavesdropping… “, Lord Shiva got up in anger.

Shiva, please sit down, I will tell him and next time he does that we will turn him into a mouse”, said one of the Lords.

I do not want to be a mouse“, Sage Co started crying.

Not you re. We are talking about Dwarapu“, Lord Shiva said and sat down.

Brahma ji continued, “Sage Co, don’t worry. We are still thinking and haven’t decided anything yet. Seeing the whole scheme of things the decision taken by you did not yield the best results, however, your intentions were unquestionably pure.

The meeting went on for long. People fought from both sides.

I am not sure whether the Sage was actually punished or not. I tend to believe he was not. I tend to believe its your intentions that really matter. Or do they? There are times when I doubt even that. There are times when it seems as if nothing really matters.

14 Comments leave one →
  1. April 9, 2010 19:52

    Funny, how the usage of vernacular was limited to only Shiva’s lines 😀

    Like

    • Consty permalink*
      April 9, 2010 20:31

      more so coz i had recently read this buk The immortals of Meluha on Lord Shiva.. his human side 🙂

      Like

  2. Ashish permalink
    April 9, 2010 19:55

    i think you will have far more interesting stories of sage consty to share 🙂

    Like

    • Consty permalink*
      April 9, 2010 20:34

      One by one dude.. one by one.. bet let it be only Sage Consty who does that 🙂

      Like

  3. amey permalink
    April 9, 2010 20:06

    i would like to hear what happens when the fox goes to the heaven…. 🙂

    Like

    • Consty permalink*
      April 9, 2010 20:34

      let me think and will put it down too wid ur help 🙂

      Like

  4. Ashutosh permalink
    April 9, 2010 21:59

    Nice one consty :), and specially the ending with Lord Shiva’s vernacular comments, give so earthly feeling 😀

    Like

    • Consty permalink*
      April 9, 2010 22:02

      ha ha everyone is after that one line… I think Lord Shiva is seeing and things might grow unpleasant.. so hush hush

      Like

  5. April 10, 2010 01:59

    LOller !!!

    Like

  6. Bharat permalink
    April 10, 2010 03:16

    Meluha, Akshardham’s Water Show and Ram Bahadur Bomjon…..
    Wonder where did the chuha part came from ??

    Like

    • Consty permalink*
      April 10, 2010 04:26

      from the common company I had for most of the part of all three 🙂

      Like

  7. April 17, 2010 05:35

    Well intentions matter, yes. But what if those intentions and subsequent actions crop up knowing only one side of the story? Will the person still be deemed not guilty? I guess the story should carry a moral: Do not interfere in people’s lives till you know the whole truth.. Btw, the original story had a chuhiya na 😐

    Like

    • Consty permalink*
      April 17, 2010 06:30

      Do not interfere in lives till you know the whole truth? 🙂 Lady the world will stop if that happens, the whole truth is beyond you and me..
      Yes yes the original had Chuhiya, for its a bigger punishment to be converted into chuhiya than chuha 😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

