Skip to content

She saw what I did not…

December 8, 2009

It was spring time I remember,
When we friends went for a trek.
To cross rivers and mighty hills,
And to loosen our neck.

And then I went the wrong way,
And got lost on a mountain.
Left all alone in a dense jungle,
And got drenched in the rain.

Two days and three nights,
I ate fruits and slept under trees.
At night getting scared of the dark,
In mornings enjoying the breeze.

Third day late in the evening,
Sitting idle without any hope.
I saw some huts in moonlight,
Deep there down the slope.

โ€˜A village, civilizationโ€™, I thought,
And whoosh I went running.
It took whole night, my feet bled,
I reached there early morning.

By the time I reached the village,
Almost everyone was awake.
Some out for work in the fields,
Some just fishing in the lake.

I went to a hut nearby,
And knocked on the door.
An old lady came out,
And listened to my story and more.

She asked me to come inside,
And offered a warm rice pot.
I lay down on the bed,
After eating the whole lot.

That day I slept like a log,
They say for whole day and night.
And even after that,
Getting up was a fight.

Grandma as I called her,
Was so kind and nice.
She lived with her granddaughter,
Who was blind in both eyes.

Next three or four days,
I stayed at grandmaโ€™s place.
Went around made friends,
Met everyone in the village.

Then one evening I was thinking,
Of going back to my town.
I was walking along the stream,
When I heard this splendid sound.

That night was the night,
That changed my life forever.
While walking along the clear stream,
I heard the loveliest song ever.

On the other side of the stream,
On the rock sat this lovely girl.
Singing like a nightingale,
Wearing a bluish white pearl.

I was pulled to her, I,
Crossed stream, got wet in water.
Went near her to see that,
She was the blind granddaughter.

The stream was gushing,
Wind was making musical sound.
She was singing like an angel,
Had no clue that I was around.

I kept sitting there, shivering,
Seeing her beautiful face shine.
Listening to every single word,
My heart was no longer mine.

Sitting there, as I wondered,
What the world for her would be.
Moving wind whispered in my ear,
More beautiful than it’s for me.

16 Comments leave one →
  1. December 8, 2009 13:45

    either it’s real or mystery, reading this poetry was a luxury… read it twice and then again and again……

    Like

  2. Consty permalink*
    December 8, 2009 14:01

    @ Anuj – Thanks ๐Ÿ™‚ Its ofcourse a mystery dude.. had it been real, i would not have been here ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  3. December 8, 2009 15:16

    Beautiful! Made my day!

    Like

  4. Laddu permalink
    December 8, 2009 16:36

    Consti…. kya likha hai yaar… I knew you had some poetic talent, par itna bhara pada hai koi idea nahi tha.

    Like

  5. December 8, 2009 17:01

    Just saw DPS again ^^ Everytime i watch it I feel i am wasting my life ๐Ÿ˜ฆ guess i will have to just walk the planck ๐Ÿ˜› after all we are all just food for worms…

    Like

  6. Consty permalink*
    December 9, 2009 09:28

    @ Aniket – thanks man… at this time of mahabharat, its great to hear that this made ur day ๐Ÿ™‚

    @ Laddu – he he haw haw… its not the talent but the girl that pushed me ๐Ÿ™‚

    @ Anuj – Wat you saying!!! I watched it too (that too yesterday only).. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  7. Consty permalink*
    December 9, 2009 10:10

    @ Anuj – I would not say food for worms rather that we will also be fertilizing daffodils later … lol ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  8. bharat permalink
    December 19, 2009 11:02

    Nice Man!

    Like

  9. Consty permalink*
    December 19, 2009 11:09

    @ bhondu – thanks my kolkata buddy… ๐Ÿ™‚ howz puchkas and moulin rouge?

    Like

    • bharat permalink
      December 21, 2009 06:31

      “Tempting” ! As always ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

  10. Kabir permalink
    February 25, 2010 11:25

    Brilliant!!

    Like

  11. Consty permalink*
    February 25, 2010 11:30

    ๐Ÿ™‚ thnks Kabir..

    Like

  12. amey permalink
    April 8, 2010 23:53

    Sitting there, as I wondered,
    What the world for her would be.
    Moving wind whispered in my ear,
    More beautiful than itโ€™s for me. > very good lines…

    Like

    • Consty permalink*
      April 9, 2010 00:10

      I am not sure if it wld really be though… I am sure that she would njoy it more than i do..

      Like

  13. February 3, 2011 19:10

    Lovely !

    Like

Leave a Reply

